My Neighbour and His Cars

Every evening the light is on in my neighbours double-garage. There he is every evening. There, he spends his time fixing his three cars.

He cleans his cars. He fixes his cars. And then he cleans them again. He moves one car out only to put another in; swapping them with religious fervour.

He spends his weekends around his garage too.

He is careful with his cars. He is purposeful with his cars.

He is obsessed with his cars.

If only we were all that obsessed.

In my quiet moments, as I retreat to my bedroom, I can easily see across the road my neighbour and his brightly-lit garage; and I pray and ask of the Lord that my attention be given and maintained on the things that matter to Him.

Leave a Reply

